Connect with us


SA20 2024: Complete Squads Of All Six Teams After Auction

The SA20 2024 auction took place in Johannesburg on Wednesday, with all six teams flexing their financial muscles to craft formidable squads.

SA20 Auction Squads

The SA20 2024 auction took place in Johannesburg on Wednesday, September 27. All six teams flexed their financial muscles to craft formidable squads within their budget. Matthew Boast and fellow Pretoria-based Titans teammate Dayaan Galiem were the top buys at the second instalment of the SA20 auction after they both went for a joint buy for R1.6 million.

It was a great day for fast-bowling allrounder Matthew Boast as well with Pretoria Capitals making him the joint-most expensive signing of the SA20 auction. The 20-year-old has 53 runs and nine wickets from six T20s so far and was part of the Under-19 team that South Africa sent to the World Cup in 2022.

Dayyaan Galiem was the other player to tempt such interest, going to Joburg Super Kings for R 1.6 million. The 26-year-old has 437 runs and 25 wickets from 34 T20s. The Super Kings were on a spree, buying West Indies allrounder Romario Shepherd and Derbyshire batter Wayne Madsen for R 850,000 each. Former South Africa legspinner and CPL 2023-winning captain Imran Tahir was JSK’s wildcard pick.

West Indies T20 sensation, Nicholas Pooran, was also unveiled as Durban’s Super Giants wildcard pick ahead of the SA20 auction that took place in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

Let’s take a look at the squads of all six teams ahead of the 2024 campaign.

Durban’s Super Giants

Keshav Maharaj (capt), Quinton de Kock, Kyle Mayers, Naveen-ul-Haq, Reece Topley, Heinrich Klaasen, Dwaine Pretorius, Keemo Paul, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dilshan Madushanka, Kyle Abbott, Junior Dala, JJ Smuts, Prenelan Subrayen, Matthew Breetzke, Wiaan Mulder, *Nicholas Pooran, Jason Smith, Bryce Parsons (rookie)

Joburg Super Kings

Faf du Plessis, Gerald Coetzee, Moeen Ali, David Wiese, Zahir Khan, Sam Cook, Leus Du Plooy, Reeza Hendricks, Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger, Donovan Ferreira, Aaron Phangiso, Bongumusa Makhanya, Kyle Simmonds, Wayne Madsen, Dayyaan Galiem, Romario Shepherd, Imran Tahir, Ronan Hermann (rookie)

MI Cape Town

Rashid Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Olly Stone, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Dewald Brevis, Ryan Rickleton, Grant Roelofsen, Delano Potgieter, Tom Banton, Christopher Benjamin, Nealan van Hearden, Thomas Kaber, Connor Esterhuizen (rookie)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman, Marco Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Sisanda Magala, Adam Rossington, Brydon Carse, Sarel Erwee, Ayabulela Gqamane, Tom Abell, Jordan Hermann, Liam Dawson, Simon Harmer, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Temba Bavuma, Caleb Seleka, Beyers Swanepoel, Andile Simelane (rookie)

Pretoria Capitals

Will Jacks, Shane Dadswell, Rilee Rossouw, Colin Ingram, Theunis de Bruyn, James Neesham, Senuran Muthusamy, Corbin Bosch, Adil Rashid, Anrich Nortje, Eathan Bosch, Wayne Parnell, Migael Pretorius, Paul Stirling, Kyle Verreynne, Matthew Boast, Daryn Dupavillon, Steve Stolk (rookie)

Paarl Royals

David Miller, Evan Jones, Jason Roy, Wihan Lubbe, Andile Phehlukwayo, Ferisco Adams, Mitchell van Buuren, Dane Vilas, Jos Buttler, Bjorn Fortuin, Codi Yusuf, Kwena Maphaka, Lungi Ngidi, Obed McCoy, Tabraiz Shamsi, Fabian Allen, John Turner, Lorcan Tucker, Lhuan-dre Pretorius (rookie)

*players in bold are new recruits.

Lwanele Poswayo is a Content Writer for and host of the UFC section on the Bet Central Podcast. Lwanele studied Sports and Recreation Management and has three years of experience as a sports writer. His passion for sports has seen him cover several sporting codes, including soccer, MMA and cricket, with his main focus being cricket betting.

More in Cricket