Connect with us


SA20 Announced Record-Breaking R70 Million Prize Money

The SA20 organisers confirmed a record-breaking R70 million would be won by the inaugural winners of the tournament.

SA20 Announced R70 Million

The inaugural SA20 competition will have the biggest prize money in the history of South Africa franchise cricket on offer. The SA20 organisers confirmed a record-breaking R70 million would be won by the team that wins the tournament.

The SA20, which starts on January 10, will see six teams backed by IPL franchise owners compete for top honours. The inaugural final will be on the 11th of February at the Wanderers in Johannesburg. 

The SA20 promises to be a success, unlike Cricket South Africa’s previous two unsuccessful attempts at staging a massive T20 tournament.

Under the watchful eye of former Proteas captain Graeme Smith as its commissioner, SA20 has secured a 10-year broadcast deal with India’s Viacom18 and a number of multi-year sponsorships.

SA20 First Round Of Fixtures

MI Cape Town v Paarl Royals – 10 January 2023

Durban Super Giants v Johannesburg Super Kings – 11 January 2023

Sunrisers Eastern Cape v Pretoria Capitals – 12 January 2023

Get weekly emails packed with the best tips and sports content.
Get ahead of the game now - fill in the contact form below.

    Lwanele Poswayo is a Content Writer for and host of the UFC section on the Bet Central Podcast. Lwanele studied Sports and Recreation Management and has three years of experience as a sports writer. His passion for sports has seen him cover several sporting codes, including soccer, MMA and cricket, with his main focus being cricket betting.

    More in Cricket