Connect with us


Proteas Name Squad For 2023 World Cup

The Proteas have named their squad for the upcoming Cricket World Cup, with regular ODI captain Temba Bavuma leading the charge.

Proteas World Cup Squad 2023

The Proteas have named their squad for the upcoming 2023 Cricket World Cup, with regular ODI captain Temba Bavuma leading the charge. Among the 15 selected players, eight will be making their World Cup debuts, including Bavuma himself.

One surprising addition to South Africa’s World Cup squad is right-arm fast bowler Gerald Coetzee, who made his international debut earlier this year. Coetzee has already made an impact in his two one-day international outings, taking five wickets, with a memorable performance on his ODI debut, taking 3 wickets.

The squad features seasoned batters, including Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, and Rassie van der Dussen.

Notably, star wicketkeeper-batter de Kock has grabbed headlines with his decision to retire from ODI cricket following the conclusion of the World Cup.

Leading the pace attack will be Kagiso Rabada, who’ll lead a talented group of fast bowlers, including Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi.

Considering the will be in India, spinners are anticipated to be crucial due to the favourable subcontinental conditions. South Africa is fortunate to have exceptional spinners in Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi, both well-equipped to thrive in these conditions.

Rob Walter, the head coach of the Proteas Men’s white-ball team, has shared insights into the squad selection process for the World Cup.

“It’s great having a mix of experienced players and players who will be competing in their first 50-over World Cup – you get that sort of exuberance of excitement to be doing something for the first time.    

“Similar to the level of experience, we have endeavoured to curate a well-balanced group of players and skill, that will allow us to effectively adapt to the conditions in India.     

“Under the leadership of Temba and the senior group, I have the utmost faith this squad will make South Africa proud.”

South Africa’s T20 World Cup Squad:

South Africa squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

More in Cricket