UCL Restart – Fixtures, Teams and Facts

By Carl Lewis

5 August 2020, by Carl Lewis

UCL Restart – Fixtures, Teams and Facts

The UEFA Champions League season was grounded to a halt, due to COVID-19, with four of the eight Round of 16 ties remaining.

The competition returns on Friday 7 August this Friday with those matches. The four playoffs will decide who will join the other four sides in the last eight of the Champions League.

As it stands

Half of the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League round of 16 ties have already concluded – These are the clubs who have booked their place in the quarter-finals already:

PSG, Atlético, Leipzig and Atalanta. 

The following Round of 16 second legs are yet to be played:

Friday 7 August

Juventus v Lyon (0-1)

Manchester City v Real Madrid (2-1)

Saturday 8 August

Bayern v Chelsea (3-0)

Barcelona v Napoli (1-1)

Also Read: UCL Match Preview and Tips

Facts and Stats

Barcelona, Bayern, Chelsea, Juventus and Real Madrid are all former European champions, though only four of those sides can make it to the next stage (since Bayern are up against Chelsea), and three are trailing from the first leg of their ties.

This season’s UCL has produced a lot of goals, in fact, 344 in 108 games at an average of 3.19 a game (or one every 29 minutes). Bayern have been the all-round star performers of 2019/20 so far: they have scored 27 goals – seven more than nearest rivals Paris – and also top the rankings for most efforts on goal (166) and most efforts on target (70).


These are one-off matches splayed at a neutral venue in Portugal.

Wednesday 12 August

Atalanta vs Paris Saint-Germain – Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica

Thursday 13 August

RB Leipzig v Atlético Madrid, Estádio José Alvalade

Friday 14 August

Napoli or Barcelona v Chelsea or Bayern Munich, Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica

Saturday 15 August

Real Madrid or Manchester City v Lyon or Juventus, Estádio José Alvalade


Tuesday 18 August

Leipzig or Atlético Madrid v Atalanta or Paris Saint-Germain, Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica

Wednesday 19 August

Real Madrid or Manchester City or Lyon or Juventus v Napoli or Barcelona or Chelsea or Bayern Munich, Estádio José Alvalade

The winner of the first semi-final was drawn as the home team – for administrative purposes – for the final, which is being held at the Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica on Sunday 23 August.

The Final

23 August: Final (Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica, Lisbon)

Get our morning email packed with the day's sporting action.
Beat the lack of sport and get our tips for our best picks of what's on.